In the Video Game World, Cheaters Proudly Prosper

Here’s the ugly, sometimes dirty, often-overlooked truth in games: Everyone cheats. In many instances, cheating is built into the game. It’s a multimillion-dollar industry, legally sanctioned. Well, at least most of it.

First of all, I’d like to say this: What a crock of shit! “Pardon my french”. Everyone cheats. What a gross over statement. I’m not trying to speak for everyone, but I don’t cheat on games. Not to say I never have in the past, but I never do until I legitimately finish a game without it.

I haven’t cheated on a game since the second Sonic game on the Sega Genesis with the Game Shark back in the early 90’s. Playing through a game without the true feeling of accomplishment is far more important than making it easier or down right unenjoyable on myself. I know cheaters out number people like me, but where are the honest gamers at? Do they even exist anymore? Maybe not.

I have many Xbox 360 games, but only have a gamer-score that’s in the low 3,000’s. Why is that when I have the potential to be over 11,000 right now if I had every achievement possible. I could easily just cheat my way to that 11,000, but I never feel the need to do that. I’m as big of a gamer-point whore as anyone, but don’t want to sacrifice my integrity for a unnecessary score that ultimately means nothing or say’s that I have way to much free time. I can’t be the only one with enough ball’s to not cheat!

read more | digg story

Posted on August 28, 2006, in SEGA Genesis, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment